Updated Marijuana Vote Totals

marijuana vote

My vote totals from yesterday were based on the above photo of the vote board since the House doesn’t publish the tally immediately. Here is the final vote total. This one is courtesy of Del. Bill Frick’s Facebook page but he had the official tally. The changes are all from people shown as previously not voting to casting votes. As a result, there was an increase of one in the number of Democrats voting no with Del. Mary-Dulany James being the newbie.

The House of Delegates voted 78-55 to pass the marijuana decriminalization bill. Most prominently, Judiciary Chairman Joe Vallario defied House tradition and voted against a bill now supported by his own committee.

A total of 17 Democrats voted red. Del. Charles Barkley (D-39) was the only Montgomery delegate who voted no. Most of the Democrats who voted no are from more conservative jurisdictions in the State with a smattering of African Americans

Democrats who voted NAY (18): K. Kelly (Allegany), Donoghue (Washington), Burns (Baltimore County), Frush (Prince George’s & Anne Arundel), Hubbard (Prince George’s), Valentino-Smith (Prince George’s), Howard (Prince George’s), Vallario (Calvert & Prince George’s), Jameson (Charles), Wilson (Charles), Bohanan (St. Mary’s), Wood (Charles & St. Mary’s), Sophocleus (Anne Arundel), Rudolph (Cecil), Conway (Wicomico & Worcester), Barkley (Montgomery), Conaway (Baltimore City), and James (Harford & Cecil).

Republicans who voted YEA (2): Costa (Anne Arundel), and Smigiel (Caroline, Cecil, Kent & Queen Anne’s).

Democrats who didn’t vote (2): Walker, Harper.

Republicans who didn’t vote (5): Myers, Stocksdale, McDonough, Dwyer, Stifler.